Mar 08, 2012 18:57 pm - Posted by gbharne

Mr Manohar Parrikar will be sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Goa by the Governor, Mr K Sankaranarayanan on March 9 at 5 pm, during a special ceremony to be held at the Sports Authority of Goa Grounds in the city.

The newly elected BJP legislators, MLAs of the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) and two independents Wednesday evening met the Governor at the Raj Bhavan and staked a claim to form the next government. The MGP and the independents also presented to the Governor, the letters of support to the BJP. The pre-poll alliance group was also accompanied by the senior national leaders of the BJP, Mr Ravi Shankar Prasad and Mr Venkaiah Naidu, besides the state in-charge for the BJP, Ms Arti Mehra.

Earlier  the BJP legislators at a special meeting elected Mr Parrikar as the leader of the BJP’s legislature wing in the presence of Mr Prasad, Mr Naidu, Ms Mehra and Mr Rajiv Pratap Rudy. The 26-member pre-poll alliance group also elected Mr Parrikar as the alliance leader.

The incoming Chief Minister, speaking to the media at the Raj Bhavan premises said that the decision to hold the swearing-in ceremony at a public place was taken as large number of supporters and well-wishers of the BJP wanted to remain present on the occasion. “We will decide about the size of the cabinet and its members on March 8, and submit the details to the Governor,” he said without revealing any related details.

This entry was posted in uncatorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>